• -

    Expert REALTOR® services To get your house sold quickly.

Your Guide To the Real Estate Tax Laws In North Carolina

Your Guide To the Real Estate Tax Laws In North Carolina

North Carolina doesn’t charge an estate tax, but a federal estate tax can be levied if the property’s value is significant. The new rules were implemented in 2013 with reduced tax rates on personal investment and no North Carolina estate tax.

Here is a short guide to understand real estate tax laws in North Carolina.

What Is Real Estate Tax?

Real estate tax is an ad valorem tax on the value of the property and can be levied on recurring household taxes, net wealth, inheritance, and gifted properties, as well as financial and capital transactions.

The Rates Of Property Tax In North Carolina

There is no property tax in North Carolina, but there is a tax levied countrywide. The tax rates may vary on every $100 of the assessed property value and can differ by location as the local government deems fit. The value of the property is reassessed every eight years to make changes in the tax amounts.

If a reevaluation is subject to a discrepancy, you can appeal to the local Board of Equalization. Local officials can also help you sort out the discrepancy to avoid a formal complaint’s hassle.

As the properties’ value varies according to the areas, it becomes difficult to analyze if your assessed value is correct. For this reason, an effective tax rate can be beneficial to estimate that for you. It is an annual property tax that is a percentage of the property’s total value.

Exemptions Of Taxes In North Carolina

If the resident is more than 65 years old and is completely disabled, then they’re allowed a homestead property tax of $25000 or 50% of the property’s assessed value. The impaired person needs to be a resident in that specific property, and their combined income needs to be below the annually adjusted income eligibility limit. There is also a circuit breaker program for older citizens for tax deferral. Some conditions for this are that the person needs to own and be a resident in that property for at least five years to be eligible. Immobilized veterans and their partners are also exempted from a $45000 homestead exemption.

Assessments Of Property Values In North Carolina

Every county is instructed to reassess values every eight years, and when the property value is not reassessed, they can adjust the property’s value on certain other grounds. If there is a major remodeling done, demolition of the structure, or correction of errors only, the value can be adjusted. It can’t be varied due to any economic conditions, depreciation or revamping of the property.

A house in Fayetteville

For more information, you can connect with Phillip Fehler, a broker of Fathom Realty, to break it down for you. He is one of the best residential real estate brokers in North Carolina, as he has significant experience in that area. You can easily sell your house with his help in Fayetteville, and he can guide you regarding all the processes, so you won’t have to worry about a thing.

 

 

 

By |2021-04-12T13:15:18+00:00April 8th, 2021|Blog|0 Comments